Is there any escape?   4 comments


No matter what you do.. the zerg is always there.

When Drakenwald was closed I went to Karak Norn, because I’ve heard that 6vs6 fights were often found there.. It took not long for me to find out that this is sadly not the case on that server. 12 seems like the minimum for groups in t4..to be fair this holds for both realms. So in the last weeks I’ve experienced some zerg stuff in the RvR lakes. Particularly Monday seemed to establish as the zerg day.

But this isn’t a post about the zerg on the server.. What I thought of is the fear of many folks out there to die in a RvR/PvP game. Damaz Kron statistics and renown grind is more important than a good fight. Which is also not the real starting point for this post..I’m writing in reverse order here ;)

All those stuff comes up, because I think that the patch 1.4.6 for WAR will change the balance in T4 a little bit. It will be nothing dramatic, but it will lessen the power gap between a fully equipped RR100 and someone entering T4. I can’t stress enough how much I like this as imo a gear/power gap is nothing that should decide the outcome of a fight in such a game. As I already mentioned in a previous post..I don’t think that it will dramatically shift power balance as the fully equipped RR100 premades are still stronger, but not by such a large margin. It will be just a bit more difficult to hide lack of skill now..

.. and that could be a problem. That statistics thing now kicks in.. people don’t want to die. It ruins the numbers.. If there would be not such a zerg-heavy gaming style in WAR I would therefore expect even more zerging when the balance gets better. The Zerg protects..the Zerg makes nice numbers.

What I’m beginning to ask myself is if there can be any game with a large community where the game is really good balanced, not zergy..not grind-orientated (renown, other purple numbers, etc..)… Is there a place in the MMO landscape where people seek a fight, because it’s a nice beating on each other and that is enough*? Can there be such a place? Is the current gaming community interested in something like this?

On the other hand..people play Diablo.. so much for the interest and fun in grinding… ;)

One last note. Though the patch for WAR doesn’t seem spectacular it’s (at least in theory) a good patch..even though I would have hoped that such bug/balance fixing would be made on a higher pace. Letting bugs be exploited for months and more was imo not good for the pop numbers…

Oh.. now the really last note..I promise. I have no clue how the city siege will  turn out to be, but as the zerg slows things down I didn’t experience a city siege in quiet a while and will not comment on the new mechanic other that I’m curious how it will be in the live game.

*As I mentioned once in voice chat.. “I don’t care about renown as long as some elves die”.

Karic(doomdiver.wordpress.com)

Posted June 5, 2012 by Karic in Community, RvR, Scenario, WAR

Tagged with , , ,

4 responses to “Is there any escape?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “What I’m beginning to ask myself is if there can be any game with a large community where the game is really good balanced, not zergy..not grind-orientated (renown, other purple numbers, etc..)… Is there a place in the MMO landscape where people seek a fight, because it’s a nice beating on each other and that is enough*? Can there be such a place? Is the current gaming community interested in something like this?”

    Well, the general community is actually pretty horrid, but you can make some nice friends and group with them in League of Legends. The game is insanely balanced as long as you don’t pick stupid team comps. People are often willing to die if there’s a chance they can take someone out with them.

    The MMO you and I are looking for doesn’t exist. I moved on to League. I suggest you give it a try if you haven’t already. :)

    • I hear very nice things about League of Legends and that makes the game quiet tempting, but from the stuff I’ve seen it just doesn’t click for me. Let’s see how desperate I’m looking for PvP action if MWO doesn’t work for me and most of the people left WAR for GW2 (which I will most likely not do unless there is a heavy pop problem) ;)

      Oh..and it’s nice to see that you are still reading some of my babbling here! I hope that it doesn’t cause any brain damage ;)

  2. Ich glaube nur wenige Spieler sind an einem echten 6vs6 interessiert. Selbst wenn, in WAR sind die Zonen einfach zu klein, in DAoC war Gruppen-RVR besser möglich (früher, als es noch Stammgruppen gab ;p).

    Mythic müsste Anreize schaffen, um das Spiel zu entzergen. Ich weiß nicht wie RPs aktuell in WAR vergeben werden, aber zu Beginn des Spiels gab es zu viele RPs für’s “nichts tun”. Der echte Kampf müsste besser belohnt werden. In DAoc hat sich das noch gelohnt, die 8vs8 Gruppen haben immer massig RPs gesammelt.

    Heute gibt es stattdessen Schlachtfelder in vielen Spielen, 1vs1 oder Gruppen-RVR hat da keine Chance mehr im Open RVR.

    Mit GW2 steht der nächste Kandidat vor der Tür, mal sehen ob es für den Recall reichen wird.

  3. Pingback: Kurznachrichten 08.06.2012 - WAAAGH.de

Leave a Reply

