Just… scenery (Part 1)   3 comments


At first I wanted to call the title for this post..or posts.. “It’s not you, it’s me”. I wanted to explain why a MOBA is no real alternative for me for playing a real MMO. I could have started with so many points, but it’s not about saying that MOBA’s are bad. Ach..I’m starting to write about stuff I didn’t really wanted to head in the first place ;)

Just to keep it short.. focusing on WoH. In my eyes one of the aims is to deliver a game which actually doesn’t involve a lot of commitment to it. You are not tied to any character, don’t have to invest stupid amounts of time. You just hop in and play. There are many valid reasons why this is a good thing, but there is some stuff I would miss if this would be my only online game and/or I would play it for a whole evening. Actually I would miss this stuff that much that I most likely wouldn’t do online gaming any longer. (Just to make it clear.. I will try out WoH and play it besides WAR and never instead of WAR. You might understand me after this little series of posts)

The first part of things I need in an online game is the scenery .. and having time to enjoy it. WAR has a lot of great places which I actually enjoy to watch and where I often find new spots to look at. Sometimes I’m running through deserted zones (and RvR lakes looking for enemies) and it’s just fun to explore some stuff. In WoH there will be similar places like in WAR, but much more enclosed..and you won’t have the time to watch them.

There are lots of more nice places in WAR.. (and a lot more screenshots in my screenshot-folder) ;). It just takes sometimes a bit of a not-so-active-phase in a game to be able to realize it’s beauties..

Karic (doomdiver.wordpress.com)

Posted August 30, 2011 by Karic in General, WAR, WoH

3 responses to “Just… scenery (Part 1)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve always loved the scenery in WAR. For my one of my university classes, I based my final project around screenshots of the game. It’s all in Flash, so I should probably rebuild it sometime.

    http://cpodemayo.com/portfolio/multimedia/warpackage/

  2. Yes, the enviroment and architecture. Overall the design is great. Sadly most of these things are only in PvE areas and RvR lakes therefore does not look so great. But anyway if you like war sceneries just check my Beauty of warhammer videos I think you might like It. The last episode is here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f4rJv5ceNU

  3. Pingback: Kurznachrichten: 01.09.11 - WAAAGH.de

Leave a Reply

