Perception   1 comment


RvR means (usually) competition..

Competition means winning.. and losing. When you win everything is fine..When you lose everything is wrong. Therefore people like to complain a lot in games like WAR where you should get used to get beaten a lot.. I mean..really often, but you will never get used to it ;)

Therefore there are always those balance outcries because the other side is overpowered.. Paul Barnett once said (freely quoted)

People think that when you win, it’s a sign of your skill. When you lose..the opponent must be cheating.

I think that those balance discussions are trickier than most of the folks out there belief. Gromril Plating will get a nerf.. That’s ok, because it’s a really nice (too nice?) skill for a Career Moral3. The way Mythic will nerf it seems to me like the nerf-pendulum, just too much..but well lets see..in PvE this Moral3 might be still useful.

That wasn’t the point I wanted to discuss…It’s more this “pointing at the other realm”-sort of balance discussion. Rarely there is a neutral discussion on things that affect the game play in a bad way..

Well ..at least I get a good laugh when I hear people complain in the US-Forums that Marauders are too weak. I have to say that I am on the receiving end of their damage-tools and that they can hit like a train and still drain ap like hell..

But that’s not my point (I can’t keep the focus it seems *hums*).. My point is that 99.8% of balance discussions in the official forums are just.. wrong, because it’s only a statement of how overpowered the other realm is. Many folks don’t see were there own realm is strong..maybe even too strong. In PvE balance is irrelevant as you fight scripted encounters.. in RvR it’s way more complicated. Think about it.

Zizlak (doomdiver.wordpress.com)

Posted April 1, 2010 by Karic in Community, PvE, RvR, WAR

One response to “Perception

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You make the point well and I would echo what you are saying. How anyone could argue otherwise baffles me.

Leave a Reply

