The difference between listening and understanding…   4 comments


The revised scenario changes which come with patch 1.3.4 are posted and discussed already..but I wanted to add my point of view, even if it’s late.

I’m a bit puzzled because the changes now got positive response in the forums.. It seems like the biggest concerns was the list of the scenarios, not the new structure. Actually, the first list of scenarios was horrible and the new one is better.. but for how long? If this is the sort of return to the whiteboard..than they must have returned there during a coffee break. Just to change the list of scenarios is no big progression in terms of gaming fun and strategy in enhancing that said fun.

The biggest problems remains. 6 scenarios during the week are just to few to play them over and over..and over..and over again..Adding the weekend warfront will not help much. Re-introducing old content as a weekend event is fun, if it doesn’t happen to often and you have to fight rumors about maintenance mode like WAR is doing. On a personal note.. I won’t see some scenarios, because I do other stuff on weekends than play WAR, but that is irrelevant. ;) I don’t get Andy’s reasoning why 6 scenarios make them pop up faster, but hey.. I’m don’t have to understand everything.

One big problem remains.. This scenarios don’t require much of a team-effort (other than bombing) or tactics..mindless warcamp camping.. doesn’t sound too interesting to me. Sure.. the scenarios will be played a lot..but people would stand still for 2h if you give them shiny new powerful things for it.

It’s imho a big failure to decouple the list of scenarios from the campaign. Either do it like it’s now or decouple them completely. This half-hearted “they are available all the time..woohoo” is just a bad decision, because it kills variety of the scenarios that pop up. I liked it that when e.g. I was playing Battle for Praag I contributed to the campaign in Praag..and not Thunder Valley.

The problem with decoupling scenarios is that.. it converts RvR again to PvP.. Realm pride has never made it really to WAR.. and it’s getting further watered down. Maybe I’m too idealistic there, but playing in a dwarf-only guild just requires some sort of realm pride ,)

I don’t want Arenas..I don’t want eSports.. I want RvR. Scenarios were a nice addition for diversion if you did some quests when leveling up..but lately they are just mindless bombing and the side with more pugs loses.

What I really would like to hear would be a mentioning of improving the queuing mechanism, because I just hate it when one side starts with e.g. 8 members and the others have in the worst case 2 premade groups there.. (thanks to the QQ-addon dev *eyeroll*) This scenarios are just not fun, no matter if you are on the winning or losing side. Of course you can’t force anyone to join the scenarios if the message pops up for him, but it remains frustrating if you are in that underpopulated scenario.

What I would hoped for hearing is that they enable to split the queues for solo/pugs and premade. As you may have noticed ..I want fights..I want hard fights where I have to do something to win, not just spam one button or stand around. So some 6vs6 maps where you queue with only full groups or separate queues for premades and pugs would be fun. And I don’t want any possibility for coordinating queues, if you fight as a pug..you face only pugs. Maybe reward premade scenarios with more renown/token than pugs..I don’t care, but if fightings pugs wouldn’t be rewarded for premades that would be fine.. but that would not be Warhammer. Lately my impression got more proof that it’s better rewarded to fight if the odds are anyways for you, e.g. fight pugs, zerg one zone, etc..than to actually do something for your renown. This I will discuss in a future post .. so stay tuned ;)

Zizlak(doomdiver.wordpress.com)

Posted February 16, 2010 by Karic in RvR, WAR

4 responses to “The difference between listening and understanding…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t expect Mythic to ever implement a PUG/Premade seperation for queues. During the Q&A at the last PTS event, they said, flat out, that they have no intention of doing so. The game is centered around the ideas of group play, and coordination. People who play together consistantly and use coordination should be dominant over a disparate group of individuals.

    • I know that Mythic has no intention of introducing the separation of PUGs/Premades.. but I still wish they had ;)

      I don’t see any conflict in group play and coordination and the separation of Pug/Premade. Mythic has to convince me why this should be any problem. Even in a Pug you have to play better as a team than the other side. It’s just a matter of difficulty level, because a premade with voice chat vs. pugs with sc-chat is just no competition. I remember Josh mentioning prior to release that many games people play are based around competition.. it seems that WAR is an exception there..
      Zerg is favored by the design of the game instead of group play.. Premades get easy renown, because the other side may has one pug-member more.. You are rewarded for easy wins, not the ones you had to actually fight for. At least it feels that way.

  2. The problem still remains how do you define a premade. Is it a group of people that like to group up and play together. Or is it a serious group of players that only want to win? Is a group of 2-4 a premade? Just something to think about.

    As for QQer, it does not guarantee that you can get both groups in the same scenario. You have better luck queuing up 4 groups to get lucky and get one double premade into a scen. Also the same results can be achieved if both groups queue up at the same time.

    • First of all.. I think everyone wants to win in a scenario.. at least in some way. I saw groups that wanted to lose, because the zone should not lock…but that’s a different story.

      A premade is a full group. I agree that a group of 4-5 is tricky to solve..but as it has some disadvantages I think that even them can be called PUG.

      But this discussion is futile. Mythic doesn’t want to change that queuing in any way. So premades can still crush pugs and with some luck QQer helps them to do it even more easily.

Leave a Reply

