On request.. What about PvE?   1 comment


In a comment I saw a request to write something about PvE in Warhammer..especially Lost Vale.

Well.. PvE in WAR seems like a not loved stepchild, but I have fun in it.

I will talk about my experiences in the Altdorf Instances (Warblade Tunnels and Sigmar Crypts) and Lost Vale. The other dungeons changed in the last weeks or I had trouble to find a group for them.

In general I like PvE stuff, but I am not and never was something like a “hardcore” raider… I can enjoy a dungeon because of the people who are in my group or because I like the layout of the dungeon.

Let’s take a look at the dungeons in WAR.. The layout is quiet straight forward. I like the art of the dungeons, though the Warblade Tunnels seem like a little bit too much of a cave than something under a city. It’s a nice atmosphere in it. Especially Lost Vale is nice.. even though this is an elf dungeon ;) So the art team gets some plus points..

Looking at the technical side things get really ugly. The path-ing of NPC’s in WAR is since release in a bad shape and I wonder why it’s so ugly in the dungeons. In the Sigmar Crypts some mobs lately started to stand behind the walls and weren’t attackable. That really disturbs the dungeon experience..

So a plus on art and a minus because of technical issues.. But art is not all the design.. What really makes the dungeons feel mediocre and only loosely attached to the game is the layout of trash-mobs and bosses.

It’s a … nicely said.. well-know layout. Nothing special. The bosses themselves are so and so.. There are some nice boss fights, e.g. Zakarai and Verimus in the Crypts, the spider-boss in Lost Vale.. and some quiet boring ones, were it’s just tank-and-spank..

Lost Vale and the Tombs in the land of the dead as end-game dungeons are too easy.. City dungeons too far away and not planable.. This is what frustrates the PvE-faction in WAR. Most of the PvE-“raiders” I know do the dungeon crawling for items. So they reach this “end” in PvE quiet fast in WAR. On Drakenwald the cities are rarely contested (maybe once a month or even less frequent..and that means just stage1. Stage2 was never reached in the past four months), so the PvE dungeons in the enemy city are just not existent.

I really like the Sigil System..It gives you character more freedom, as you can change and mix gear and are not forced to wear that one set you have.

In terms of gear progression PvE is not the best way in WAR. It’s easy to get some good gear via sentinel stuff, but the really good gear is obtained in ORvR and there is no way around it. I don’t think that this is bad, as the people who focus on ORvR would otherwise complain that the PvE’ers go the easy way, because they only fight scripted fights and not real enemies. Sentinel and Darkpromise gear is not too shabby anyways.

Coming to scripts…There are some PvE’ers who complain(ed) about the difficulty of the boss fights in WAR. I don’t see the fights as subpar compared to my time in WoW (pre-WotLK).. You have to face the fact.. Boss fights are easy in a way as you can understand the tactics (if they are already known and told to you) in ..let’s say.. three tries at most. In that time you will get the general feeling for the fight. Everything else in boss fights boils down to dps/hps comparison. I don’t see a difficulty factor there as it just depends on gear or on luck, e.g. Nkhari hitting the tank twice for 7.5k. Beating a boss, just because of better gear is no real accomplishment or challenge. My respect goes to those who figure out the tactics.

Long story shortly told.. PvE in WAR is to me not as bad as some people think, but it’s definitely not near a jewel-status of the game. Nothing I would focus my advertising on ;) It doesn’t stand out in any aspect to other games (I can even agree with those who say that it’s not as demanding and difficult as in other games) and could need some attention..At least some scary bugs could be squished ;)

Nevertheless I have fun running those dungeons in WAR with my guildmates.. No matter if I need anything. It’s a nice change of pace when I’m are not in mood for the big zergs in ORvR.

The fun is to me an important factor for dungeons at level cap. Are they fun to you so that you can enjoy them even though there is nothing to get for you? That is something everyone has to answer for himself… I did it and you see me in that dungeons ;)

Posted August 13, 2009 by Karic in PvE, WAR, Warhammer

One response to “On request.. What about PvE?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I liked alot of PvE in WAR, the problem I had were the Bugs. I don’t care if things are hard, or not polished. But constant bugginess really was getting to me.

Leave a Reply

