Slightly off-topic   2 comments


I wanted to write some rant about the population on Drakenwald, especially the so called order, but that will have to wait… As everyone who is frustrated with something in an MMPO I’m looking around for other MMOs. What could be alternatives or new “homes”?

But first, a state of the game for WAR:

I still like the game, though is has many design flaws and I’m having real performance issues sometimes. Strangely the latter seems to depend on the moon calendar or something like that, because sometimes the lag is horrible, sometimes it’s ok. Our guild has some high and low-activity phases since it exists and atm it’s been in a low activity one, because of the release of blood bowl which some guys play. Others are frustrated about patch 1.3. This low activity lessened my interest in WAR (but there is another reason which I will explain later)..

My biggest complaint goes to the order guys on Drakenwald. Yesterday I just turned off regional chat because they just made me angry.

So..are there alternatives or new shiny things on the horizon?

Aion

At the first moment I saw a video of the gameplay I saw that it’s definitely not my kind of game. Wings, Anime-style..etc.. no way. I will follow some stuff about it, but it’s mostly because I am interested in how the hype-thing will evolve. I think that there will be no game which can survive the hype that’s been build up in the gaming community before release..

Which brings me to..

Star Wars: The old Republic

I really, really liked KoToR.. I think Bioware can make real good games, but.. I am not sure how well this all plays out in an MMO. It’s just not fun if too many force using chars are out there and I’m not sure how there will be in a MMO a story where I am the real hero… Too much epic stuff for too many people at the same time and place. I don’t think that this can be handled.. So I’m interested but heavily skeptical.. If I could request one thing, than I just want to rename all characters I ignore to Jaja.

The list is short, but there are still some entries..

Champions Online

Short answer..I want to be a hero.. not a super-hero.. ;)

DDO

As it turns to f2p I’m not sure if I will visit it. I like the D&D worlds, but I heavily dislike the ruleset. I’m a bit undetermined what I should think about the favor-unlocked 32-points build, because the first character I play in an MMO is still something special to me, even though I’m an alt-a-holic..

Star Trek Online

Still some time to go for this title, but it’s atm a definite “I will try this one”. All the stuff I’ve read and heard at the moment is in the category “Oh..that’s interesting”. I think the exploration-way is simpler and better to implement into a game than the story-driven way that Bioware is trying in SWTOR. STO just sounds more like an MMO than a single-player game, where the latter  is something I always think when I hear/read something about TOR.

Thinking about this paragraph I just realized that it’s for me most of the time a STO vs TOR. This are the two MMO titles I’m most interested in..STO wins for me as it seems something different to the current MMO’s and not just a better version of them…

..but for the next couple of weeks I’m playing the game of  “write a PhD thesis”.. more time-consuming..some kind of grind, but hey.. it rewards a title and maybe another tome unlock ;)

Posted July 9, 2009 by Karic in General

2 responses to “Slightly off-topic

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck for the tome-unlock!

    :)

Leave a Reply

