What I’ve been doing..   Leave a comment


Yet another post explaining the lack of activity here.. ;)

At the moment I’m just not interested in playing WAR.. There are two reasons for it. a) Anyone I’ve played with is doing something else and I am not interested in searching for new groups because.. b) I’m playing Mechwarrior Online right now and I’m having a good time there.

The social component in a MMO is crucial..even if it’s often watered down in newer games so that the content can be done solo, which defeats the purpose of an (massive multiplayer) online game, but that’s an old, long story. It’s still a fact to me that you need at least some form of interaction to make a MMO fun, even if it’s just a chat. Currently WAR is not offering it to me or at least doesn’t give me reasons to search for a group.

This is related to b). MWO is more of a fps than a MMO, but it does have several things that make it fun to play for me for 1-3 hours and have fun during that time. It’s not ready yet (components of the game are missing and the performance is..far from stable), but it’s already entertaining. My only problem is that it turns into Open Beta next tuesday.. The last two patches really screwed up some things on the client and server side and I’m not sure if this is a good state of the game to make it more public. Anyway..feel free to check the game out ;) If you happen to kill a Nathrach..that’s me..

For you who don’t know what MWO is about..here are two videos from No guts No galaxy a Battletech-Podcast which recorded two clan/guild/corp matches:

Karic(doomdiver.wordpress.com)

 

 

Posted October 11, 2012 by Karic in General, MWO, WAR

Leave a comment