Some babbling about Ironbreakers..   1 comment


As I’ve already mentioned lately I play often my Ironbreaker.

He’s just rr70, so weak in most aspects of t4 fighting. Still I don’t think that I’m useless and still contribute to the fight even with my 2-handed specc… here it is.

I terms of distribution of mastery points there is no real alternative for me. In terms of choosing tactics..there are a lot more options  ;) IB’s are a career where I wished that there would be more tactics slots available ;)

Nevertheless I’m often surprised how sturdy this build is…even when I’m just wearing worn sov equipment (with armor, crit and mini-odjira)  and an old axe from Lost Vale. The stability comes from the speccing into brotherhood and the M2. This moral skill helps me overcome  incoming burst damage quiet often, because there is no way to circumvent it and it reduces incoming damage practically to just damage from moral abilities.

Lately I even used this build in zerg situations.. just swapped the equipment to def-worn sov and axe+board. Even without further speccing/choosing equipment to block the IB got 30%+.. I’ve changed the tactics for this fights a bit:  The Greatweapon mastery tactic is changed to Seasoned Veteran (reduction of incoming damage to 85% after blocking an attack), the rest remains.  Somewhat surprisingly this is enough to make me useful even when warbands collide.

I thought about changing the Ironbreaker to being a real tank again.. being an unbreakable Ninja-turtle.. something like this build… which I discarded quiet fast, because this build loses too much crowd control abilities. A little bit more useful seems this build, but than again it didn’t seem like a real def-tank as many points had to be taken out of the “def”-mastery tree. What’s the point in a tank that’s no threat to anyone and also doesn’t have the tools to help his teammates. Ok..with RR70 my little IB is no threat either, but he can be really annoying ;)

My conclusion is that tanks in WAR have not only to be tough to kill, but have to bring more stuff like debuffs, crowd control and at least a little amount of damage to the table. The combination of this requirements is in the best way provided by the spec I’m currently using (or a spec which is a lot like this. My understanding of the game is not perfect, so there are certainly a lot more tricks and different ways to build a char than I know and provided here. Just a note: I’m not really using any/a lot lotd stuff on my alts and didn’t include that in my evaluation of the usefulness of a build. It’s just a  general form of my understanding of the game..but hey..it’s my blog and I’m allowed to write the most silly stuff here .. feel free to comment though)

Just derailing again.. I think this requirements are valid for any PvP game. A class has to be more than just the narrow tank, dps or healer slot, but it has to contribute to the fight in a multitude of ways..which is something that makes PvP more engaging than PvE and distinguishes good from bad PvP games, but that’s a different story which is to be told at some other time ;)

Karic (doomdiver.wordpress.com)

Posted April 25, 2012 by Karic in Dwarves, RvR, Scenario, WAR

Tagged with , , , ,

One response to “Some babbling about Ironbreakers..

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Kurznachrichten 26.04.2012 - WAAAGH.de

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

