On Request by Yitu   Leave a comment


Yitu asked me to answer this here on my blog..

(German)

Was mich zu der Fragestellung führt: Was bleibt wenn man ein MMO beendet? Wenn man EVE, WoW, WAR, AoC usw. usf. beendet? Welche Eindrücke bleiben? Nur ein MMO-Museum?

Wenn ich meine Tabletop-Figuren auspacke, dann habe ich “etwas in der Hand”. Wenn ein MMO-Acc. beendet wird, dann hat man… was? Wie kann man Erinnerungen an seine MMO-Erlebnisse am besten / leichtesten / einfachsten Konservieren?

(English translation.. Just written down by me.. so if I’ve done anything wrong blame me ;))

What leads to this question: What remains if you quit a MMO? If you stop playing EVE, WoW, WAR, AoC, etc..? What impressions remain? Just a MMO-Museum?

If I grab my Tabletop-Figures, then I hold something in my hands. If my MMO-subscriptions runs out, then remains…what? How can you conserve a MMO-Experience best/easiest?

I have quitted some online games now and never tried to conserve any of the stuff that happened there. Well..that’s not right.

I didn’t write down anything, saved screenshots, etc.. just for the purpose of having something to look back. Somewhere I have some combat logs from the MUDs I’ve played. Lately I stumbled upon some screenshots I took when playing WoW..and I’m blogging about WAR (and STO).. but this is not meant to be a form of solidifying the essence of the experience when playing.

The only thing that really keeps the fun of a MMO experience alive are the many nice people I’ve met and played together with. Just as the web keeps information alive by spreading it around, it’s talking to people with whom you had some nice gaming experiences which brings back the fun, excitement, etc…. of that special MMO moment you don’t want to forget.

So I don’t need a physical thing after I quit a MMO. It’s more than enough that I meet new people and keep in contact with (at least) some of them after I quit that game. This is the most important thing in online gaming (and blogging) for me. This social element is the thing that differs from a single-player to a MMO.. It’s not the need for grouping.. loot..items..ranks etc..

World’s first kill/highest item/rank is nothing if you have no one to share the experience with…and I don’t mean bragging about it.

Posted December 11, 2009 by Karic in Community

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

